‘Wicked Charms’ Book Review

wicked charmsRecently I’ve been expanding my type of genre when it comes to books. Growing up I was dependant on romance, to read about girls who had everything I wanted. Young Adult fiction became my crutch during the boring days of my teenage years. 

But now I find myself craving something a little different. When voicing these concerns a family member suggested I move onto to something that would ease me into another genre- a crossover perhaps. With that she handed me the first in a series by Janet Evanovich, ‘Wicked Appetite’- a crime novel with a light hearted comedy feel and a fabulously sexy duo with tension that could be cut with a knife. Without a doubt, I was hooked. And explains why I read the second novel, ‘Wicked Business’ in a matter of days. OK, more like hours. 

Which is why I was so gosh-darn excited for the third book to be published. I knew Evanovich was co-writing this novel with another author by the name Phoef Sutton, someone I hadn’t heard of before, and I was a little apprehensive. Would it have the same off the cuff and witty one liners Evanovich was so well known for writing? Would the tension between Diesel and Lizzie still be red hot? These were all genuine questions I had buzzing around my head leading up to the publication date. 

But it turns out…I needn’t have worried. Evanovich and Sutton work amazingly together, and the stories in this series just keep getting better and better. Now that the characters are well fleshed out and as familiar to me as the family member who introduced us, the plot lines and crime aspects really take precedence and you start to understand where the authors are heading within this series. 

And I love the characters, I really do- they are lovable and sweet with a wicked sense of humour. No pun intended. Alright, maybe a little. And whilst a few of them seem a little too goofy to be real people, or perhaps too helpful that makes our heroes’ journey just that much easier, they are fun to read about. From the guy who can’t stop talking like a pirate even when he’s off duty to the finger flipping pet monkey Carl, you can’t help laugh out loud at them all. 

The story revolves around Lizzie Tucker, a cupcake baker living in Salem who discovers she possesses a magical sense that allows her to locate stones that have the abilities of the Seven Deadly Sins. Sounds odd written down, for sure, but combined with Evanovich’s comedic writing style and the murder mystery sub-plot that keeps the suspense building it works. The other protagonist is the mysterious Diesel who acts as Lizzie’s guide, and therefore ours as well, to the supernatural and the world of magic. He too possesses some magical ability of his own, and to keep the sexual tension alive as the series continues, neither can be with one another for fear of losing their magical skills. It’s both convenient and slightly hilarious at times.

While the crime aspect doesn’t exactly match the level of gore or suspense as say Stephen King or Jo Nesbo, there are moments that will surprise and shock you. However it is not the main focus of the storyline and takes a back seat to the comedy and relationships between the characters. It is a gateway novel from romance into the crime genre, and a perfect start for people looking to make the switch. 

There are two main storylines within this novel- the stand alone one that focuses on the particular stone of Lust and the character’s quest to find it, and the overall arc of Lizzy and Diesel’s fight against the main villain of the story- Diesel’s not so nice cousin Wulf who is also after the stones for his own nefarious ways. Not much is known about Wulf up to this point, and I think Evanovich plans to keep it that way- he’s been labelled the ‘tall mysterious man’ and he really lives up to his name. But his role ties in nicely with both storylines as he simultaneously hinders and helps our heroes along the way. 

It’s a feel good novel to read during your down time or on holiday. It’s a series I have grown to love as I have read each book, and is one I happy to read over and over again whilst waiting for the next in the series. If you’re looking for something a little different and light hearted, yet want to stray away from the cliche romances thrown at the female demographic, this is the book, and the series, for you. 

7.5/10 

Leave a comment